Skip to Content
Ulverston International Music Festival

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Royal Northern Sinfonia return to the Ulverston
Festival with a programme featuring a Mozart
Piano Concerto, Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto
No.1 & Beethoven's exuberant Symphony No.7

Date & Time
The Coro


Standard: £32     Under 30s: £16.50

Front Stalls

Standard: £27     Under 30s: £14

Rear Stalls

Standard: £22     Under 30s: £11.50

Additional details

Doors open 6:15pm

Please note this event starts at 7 pm prompt.

By booking you agree to our Conditions of Sale and Entry including our refund policy.

We welcome the Royal Northern Sinfonia back to Ulverston for a brace of concerti, and an ebullient symphonic ending.
Written in 1784, for one of his most talented students, Barbara Ployer, the G major concerto is one of Mozart’s most sensitive and witty. Immediately a success, it was one of only six concertos published during his life time. The opening movement is built upon a stylised good natured military march, the C major slow movement employs some astounding dissonances alternating with major-minor switches, while the closing final movement is a witty set of variations in the mood of comic opera.

Saint-Saëns cello concerto, considered by many great composers (including Shostakovich and Rachmaninov) to be the finest cello concerto written, defies tradition, and is composed in one continous movement, with three distinct sections. The music is tremendously demanding, especially in the fast third section, but nonetheless, the concerto remains a firm favourite of the virtuoso cellists.

At its premiere in 1813, Beethoven commented that his Symphony No.7 was one of his best works, and at that premiere, the second movement was so popular that audiences demanded an encore! The work is in the joyful key of A major, and has perhaps one of the most uplifting and exhilarating finales of the classical period.


Teresa Riveiro Böhm, conductor
Royal Northern Sinfonia
Maja Bogdanović, cello
Anthony Hewitt, piano

Mozart Piano Piano Concerto No.17 in G major K453
Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No.1 in A minor, Op.33
Beethoven Symphony No.7 in A major, Op.92


Book tickets

  • 7.00pm